造成税收问题的情况有很多。在收到此类问题的通知时,快速、全面地向税务机关做出反应至关重要。Hone Maxwell LLP 的税务律师为个人和企业解决了诸多税务问题,使客户能够避免因错误或不当行为造成的税务问题而付出高昂的处罚代价。

未归档退税

未能提交年度所得税申报表是一个常见且非常严重的问题。尽快准备并提交拖欠的纳税申报表至关重要。HMLLP 税务律师协助从各种资源中查找并获取必要的历史和财务信息,以正确提交合规的纳税申报表。律师还协助确定减少所欠余额或制定付款计划的选项。最后,若已经采取了强制措施,则可能需要以特定方式提交申报表以解决违规问题。

无辜配偶

配偶在联合报税表上不恰当地申报或遗漏项目的人可能可以获得“无辜配偶救济”。获得无辜配偶救济的情况极为有限,但符合条件的人可避免缴纳税款、利息和罚款。

税务通知

税务机关向纳税人发送的各种书面通知并不总是符合标准情况,例如审计。一些通知仅供参考,而其他通知则表明税收变化或有更多的未缴税款。了解这些通知并适当及时地对其作出回应至关重要。

减免罚款

美国国税局会对任何未缴税款收取利息和罚款。利息和罚款的总费用可能高于原始应缴税款。法律允许基于“合理理由”取消或减轻处罚。减免罚款的结果在很大程度上取决于案件的辩论方式。因此,详细说明导致未清税款的事实和情况是成功获得减免罚款的关键。

There are a multitude of situations that can create tax problems. It is crucial to respond quickly and completely to taxing authorities when notified of such issues. Hone Maxwell LLP’s tax attorneys have resolved many tax problems for individuals and businesses, allowing clients to avoid potentially costly penalties for tax problems – whether created by mistakes or misconduct.

Unfiled Returns

Failing to file annual income tax returns is a common but serious problem. It is essential to prepare and file delinquent tax returns as soon as possible. HMLLP tax attorneys assist in locating and obtaining the necessary historical and financial information from various resources to file compliant tax returns properly. The attorneys also assist in identifying options to reduce the balance owed or create a payment plan. Lastly, there may already be an enforcement action in place and it may be necessary to file the returns in a specific manner to address the noncompliance.

Innocent Spouse

Innocent Spouse Relief may be available to those whose spouses improperly reported or omitted items on a joint tax return. There are a limited number of circumstances under which Innocent Spouse Relief is available. Those who qualify may avoid paying taxes, interest and penalties.

Tax Notices

There are a variety of written notices taxing authorities send to taxpayers that don’t always fit the standard situations, such as an audit.  Some notices are informational only, while others indicate tax changes or more taxes owed. Understanding these notices and responding to them appropriately and promptly is essential.

Penalty Abatement

The IRS charges interest and penalties on any outstanding taxes. The combined charges for interest and penalties may be greater than the original taxes due. The law allows for the removal or reduction of penalties based on “reasonable cause.” The outcome of a penalty abatement request largely depends on how the case is argued. Therefore, a detailed account of the facts and circumstances that gave rise to the outstanding tax liability is key to a successful penalty abatement request.

Newsletter Signup

Stay updated on the latest tax laws.