税务审计可能会让人不知所措、压力重重且令人生畏。有时,纳税人甚至可能选择忽略审计,认为如果他们支付了评估费用,税务审计师就会“走开”。有些人则认为聘请律师会让他们看起来像似“不打自招”。事实上,两种说法都是错误的。

首先,税务审计师通常会将审计接受视为存在更大问题的指标,并将审计纳税申报表上的其他年份或项目。其次,税务审计师通常非常欢迎律师提供协助,因为律师可以使整个审计流程更加顺畅。在进行审计时,请记住,税务审计师只想正确且尽可能轻松地完成工作。此外,该过程通常包括税务审查员的提问、从多个时间段和来源收集信息以及支付更高的税款。有些人甚至可能面临刑事起诉。对于所有这些情况,您的身边最好有一位经验丰富的律师。

Hone Maxwell LLP 税务律师拥有与各种审计师合作以及处理一系列独特的税务审计情况的经验。HMLLP 律师知道如何以保护客户权利的方式回应审计询问。团队会创造性地思考税务申报中所采取立场的理由,并确定支持客户立场的文件。

许多人试图代表自己参与税务审计,但与受过专门培训的税务审计师对抗往往会导致不利或更加严重的后果,包括进一步调查、更大的责任和刑事指控。与报税员相比,经验丰富的税务律师可提供有关审计流程的各类知识。在税务审计中,自我辩护者经常会因急于为自己的工作辩护而将自己置于不利和危险的境地。

HMLLP 律师解释可能出现的任何问题并及时提出各种法律辩护,以帮助限制或防止不适当的审计评估。该团队拥有必要的会计和法律技能,这对于有效的审计至关重要。

Tax audits can be overwhelming, stressful and intimidating. Sometimes, taxpayers may even choose to ignore the audit, thinking that the tax auditor will “go away” if they simply pay the assessment. Some people believe that hiring an attorney will make them look guilty. Both are incorrect.

First, the tax auditor will often view an audit acceptance as an indicator that there are greater problems and will audit other years or items on the tax return. Second, tax auditors often welcome an attorney’s assistance because it can make for a much smoother process. When approaching an audit, it is helpful to keep in mind that tax auditors just want to do the job correctly and as easily as possible. Additionally, the process routinely includes questioning by a tax examiner, collecting information from many time periods and sources and paying even higher tax liabilities. Some people may even face criminal indictment. For all these situations, it is much better to have an experienced attorney on your side.

Hone Maxwell LLP tax attorneys have experience working with various auditors and a host of unique tax audit circumstances. HMLLP attorneys know how to respond to audit inquiries in ways that preserve the client’s rights. The team thinks creatively about justifications for the positions taken in tax filings and identifies documentation that will support the client’s position.

Many people try to represent themselves in tax audits, but going against specially trained tax auditors often leads to unfavorable outcomes and serious repercussions, including further investigation, greater liability and criminal charges. Experienced tax attorneys, compared to tax preparers, bring knowledge about the audit process. In tax audits, preparers are often put in the uncomfortable and dangerous position of defending their work.

HMLLP attorneys explain any issues that may arise and timely assert various legal defenses to help limit or prevent inappropriate audit assessments. The team has the necessary accounting and legal skills that are essential to an effective audit.

Newsletter Signup

Stay updated on the latest tax laws.