美国税收制度针对美国对外国企业、资产和银行账户的所有权制定了具体而详细的国际税收和报告法。 Hone Maxwell LLP 拥有税法和国际经验,可帮助客户驾驭无数规则并遵守美国国际税务和报告法规。 除了帮助客户避免罚款外,HMLLP 的律师还与当地税务顾问合作,以确保在多个国家/地区进行最佳税务规划。 HMLLP 律师提供全面的指导,包括技术顾问和合规要求,以确保正确计算和报告税款。

美国公民、居民和被视为居民的收入无论在世界上的哪个地方获得,都由美国征税。 美国以外的资产、银行账户、收入或商业活动也承担着强制性的申报和报告义务,对不合规的行为将受到严厉处罚。

美国国税局已将外国收入和活动作为重中之重,导致更多的审计、对国际交易的额外审查、增加的处罚评估以及未能正确报告资产或活动的刑事起诉。 在某些情况下,如果纳税人未能在其所得税申报表中提交一份所需文件,则诉讼时效将永远不会从该申报表开始——这意味着整个纳税申报表将无限期地接受 IRS 的审查。

从外国账户税收合规法案 (FACTA) 到外国银行和金融账户报告 (FBAR) 再到全球无形低税收入 (GILTI) 合规,HMLLP 的律师提供确保合规和最小化风险所需的指导。HMLLP 律师是也精通 大赦计划适用于那些面临不合规问题的人。

美国国际合规性可能是压倒性的。 法律不断变化,形式多样,违规者面临严厉处罚的威胁。 与了解技术规则和法规以及所需的合规性和报告的专业人士合作至关重要。

HMLLP 协助美国公民和居民:

《海外银行和财务账户申报》(FBAR) /《外国账户税务合规法案》 (FACTA)

与 FATCA 最相关的表格是 FBAR,实际上是 FinCEN 表格 114。 当直接拥有或具有签名权限的外国银行账户在任何时候累积价值超过 10,000 美元时,需要 FBAR。 对违规行为的处罚范围从非故意违规的 10,000 美元到故意不申报的账户余额的 100%。

表格 5471

当美国人拥有一家外国公司时,需要进行报告,通常使用 5471 表格。 通常,当美国人控制外国公司或处置/收购外国公司 10% 或更多的股票时,此表格是必需的。 不提交的罚款是 10,000 美元,但在提交表格之前,诉讼时效永远不会在整个纳税申报表上运行。 此外,此表格可以表明其他要求,例如 GILTI、FBAR 或其他声明。

表格 8621

当外国公司的所有权没有上升到控制水平时,投资仍然可以被视为被动外国投资公司(PFIC)。 表格 8621 报告 PFIC、相关收入和可能的选举以尽量减少税收。 与表格 5471 一样,它会因未提交而被处以 10,000 美元的罚款,并且在提交之前,整个纳税申报表不会受到诉讼时效的影响。

表格 3520

我们将 3520 表称为“包罗万象”表。 此表格报告了几种情况,从与外国信托的交易到从外国人那里收到的礼物/遗产。 对礼物/遗产的处罚可能为 25%,对于与外国信托的活动,处罚最高可达交易或信托的 35%。

表格 3520-A

外国信托的美国所有者必须在此表格上报告来自信托的收入。 如果未提交该表格,则可处以信托价值 5% 的罚款。

吉尔蒂

GILTI 是一项新的反延期规则,于 2018 年开始实施。 尽管名称中有“无形”一词,但它是根据可折旧资产的回报率计算的。 即使没有 GILTI 税,也有大量报告需要完成,个人纳税人可能能够进行第 962 节的选举,以尽量减少税收后果。

The United States tax system has specific and detailed international tax and reporting laws regarding U.S. ownership of foreign businesses, assets and bank accounts. Hone Maxwell LLP has the tax law and international experience to help clients navigate the myriad of rules and comply with U.S. international tax and reporting regulations. In addition to helping clients avoid penalties, HMLLP’s attorneys work with local tax advisors to ensure optimum tax planning across multiple countries. HMLLP attorneys provide comprehensive guidance that includes both the technical counsel and compliance requirements to make sure the taxes are properly calculated and reported.

U.S. citizens’, residents’ and deemed residents’ income is taxed by the U.S. no matter where in the world it is earned. Assets, bank accounts, income or business activities outside of the U.S. also carry imperative filing and reporting obligations, which have extreme penalties for non-compliance.

The IRS has made foreign income and activities a top priority, resulting in more audits, additional scrutiny of international transactions, increased penalty assessments and criminal prosecutions for failing to report assets or activities properly. In certain circumstances, if a taxpayer fails to file even one required document with their income tax return, the statute of limitations will never begin on that return – meaning the entire tax return is open to IRS scrutiny indefinitely.

From the Foreign Account Tax Compliance Act (FACTA) to the Report of Foreign Bank and Financial Accounts (FBAR) to Global Intangible Low-Taxed Income (GILTI) compliance, HMLLP’s attorneys provide the guidance needed to ensure compliance and minimize risk. HMLLP attorneys are also well-versed in the Amnesty Programs available to those facing non-compliance issues.

U.S. International Compliance can be overwhelming. There are constantly changing laws, multiple forms and the threat of severe penalties for non-compliance. It is essential to work with professionals who understand the technical rules and regulations and the compliance and reporting that is required.

HMLLP assists U.S. citizens and residents with:

FBAR/FATCA

The form most associated with FATCA is the FBAR, which is actually FinCEN Form 114. The FBAR is required when foreign bank accounts, owned directly or with signature authority, have a cumulative value of greater than $10,000 at any one time. The penalty for non-compliance ranges from $10,000 for a non-willful offense to 100% of the account balance for willful non-filing.

Form 5471

When Americans own a foreign corporation, there is required reporting, usually utilizing Form 5471. Generally, this form is necessary when Americans control a foreign corporation or dispose of/acquire 10% or more stock in a foreign corporation. The penalty for not filing is $10,000, but the statute of limitations never runs on the entire tax return until the form is filed. Further, this form can signal additional requirements such as GILTI, the FBAR or other statements.

Form 8621

When ownership of a foreign corporation does not rise to the level of control, the investment can still be considered a passive foreign investment company (PFIC). Form 8621 reports PFICs, related income and possible elections to minimize tax. As with Form 5471, it carries a penalty of $10,000 for not filing and the statute of limitations does not run on the entire tax return until it is filed.

Form 3520

We refer to Form 3520 as the “catch-all” form. Several situations are reported on this form, from transactions with foreign trusts to gifts/inheritances received from foreigners. The penalties can be 25% for gifts/inheritances and up to 35% of the transaction or trust for activities with foreign trusts.

Form 3520-A

American owners of foreign trusts must report income from the trust on this form. If the form is not filed, a penalty of 5% of the value of the trust can apply.

GILTI

GILTI is a new anti-deferral rule enacted beginning in 2018. Despite the word “intangible” in the name, it is calculated based on a return on depreciable assets. Even if there is no GILTI tax, there is substantial reporting to be completed, and individual taxpayers may be able to make a Section 962 election to minimize the tax consequences.