美国国税局是世界上最具侵略性和恐吓性的税收当局之一。 在美国工作或经商的人可能会对美国国税局和加州税务机关的范围和影响感到惊讶。 在美国开展业务的外国实体和在美国工作的外籍人士必须以美国税务目的正确报告其美国活动,并遵守与任何美国资产和收入相关的报告要求。 此外,为了避免严厉的处罚,还必须提交信息报告。

现有的许多税务规定均是为了鼓励对内投资。 如果有适当的计划和报告,那么参与世界最大的经济体就不会有任何后顾之忧了。 Hone Maxwell LLP 致力于确保客户遵守所有美国及州税务申报和报告义务。

5472 表格

外国人拥有至少 25% 股权并与该外国所有者进行某些交易的美国公司必须提交 5472 表格。 该表格有一份符合报告条件的交易明细清单,但明细很宽泛,似乎每笔金融交易都必须申报。 此外,5472 表格的罚款在 2018 年已增加到每年$25,000。 通过有效的咨询和计划,可以避免代价高昂的处罚。

美国税收协定

虽然与各国签订了许多允许降低税率或免除美国所得税的税收协定,但它们的适用方式因纳税人的身份而异。 此外,加利福尼亚州不符合美国税收协定,并在确定税收方面考虑了许多因素。 此外,由于“保留条款”,条约通常只适用于在美国投资的外国人。 因此,很少有专业人士有税收协定方面的经验。 但是,有效利用税收协定可能会带来一些巨大的税收优惠。

W-8

非美国个人和企业必须提交 W-8 表格以符合外国账户税收合规法案 (FACTA) 。 此外,部分美国人必须核实他们向外国人或外国企业付款的时间。 W-8 表格旨在用于证明外国纳税人。 这些表格也可用于采用税收协定。 HMLLP 可根据文件需求提供经验丰富的顾问,帮助避免与金融机构间产生代价高昂的不合规及复杂情况。

实体选择

外国人在美国创业时可以选择几种实体类型。 各种实体类型都有不同的法律和税收后果,必须慎重考虑。 该申请因具体情况而异,因为每个纳税人选择如何使用他们的业务并获得收入可能会影响最佳选项的选择。

移民前规划

在获得美国身份之前,适当的移民前规划有助于最大限度地减少所得税和遗产税。 若出于税收目的将某人视为美国人,那么其选择范围就会少很多。 移民前规划还有助于保护资产并避免导致诉讼纠纷。 HMLLP 律师了解移民美国的法律后果和义务,以及可能出现的许多个人和家庭问题。 这种经验使 HMLLP 律师能够提供平衡性建议,实现个人目标并促进战略性税收和法律规划。

The United States is one of the most aggressive and intimidating taxing authorities in the world. Therefore, people working or conducting business in the U.S. may be surprised at the extent and reach of the IRS and California taxing authorities. Foreign entities conducting business in the U.S. and expatriates working in the U.S. must properly report U.S. activities for U.S. tax purposes and adhere to the reporting requirements related to any U.S. assets and income. Additionally, there are information reports that must be filed to avoid severe penalties.

Many of the rules are made to encourage inbound investment. If there is proper planning and reporting, there is nothing to fear when participating in the largest economy in the world. Hone Maxwell LLP works to ensure clients’ compliance with all U.S. and state tax filing and reporting obligations.

Form 5472

U.S. corporations that are owned at least 25% by a foreigner and have certain transactions with that foreign owner must file a Form 5472. There is an itemized list of transactions that qualify for reporting, but some are so broad it can appear that every financial transaction must be reported. In addition, the penalty on Form 5472 increased in 2018 to $25,000 a year. With effective counsel and planning, costly penalties can be avoided.

U.S. Tax Treaties

While many tax treaties with various foreign countries allow for reduced tax rates or exemptions from U.S. income taxes, they apply differently depending on the taxpayer’s status. In addition, California does not conform to U.S. tax treaties and considers many factors to determine taxation. Also, due to the “savings clause,” treaties generally only apply to foreigners investing in the U.S. For this reason, very few professionals have experience with taking treaty positions. However, there can be some great tax benefits from utilizing a tax treaty.

W-8

Non-American individuals and businesses must submit W-8 forms to be compliant with the Foreign Account Tax Compliance Act (FACTA). Also, some Americans must verify when they are paying foreigners or foreign businesses. The series of W-8 forms are used to certify a foreign taxpayer. The forms can also be used to take a treaty position. HMLLP provides skilled counsel on which documents are required, helping avoid costly noncompliance and complications dealing with financial institutions.

Choice of Entity

In the U.S. there are several entity types that foreigners can choose when they set up a business. These all have different legal and tax consequences that must be carefully considered. The application is fact specific, as how each taxpayer chooses to use their business and receive income could change which option is best.

Preimmigration Planning

Proper preimmigration planning helps minimize income taxes and estate taxes when done properly before obtaining U.S. status. The options are much fewer once someone is considered a U.S. person for tax purposes. Preimmigration planning also helps protect assets and avoid disputes that lead to litigation. HMLLP attorneys understand the legal consequences and obligations of immigrating to the U.S., and the many personal and family issues that can arise. This experience allows HMLLP attorneys to give balanced advice that achieves personal goals and facilitates strategic tax and legal planning.