李元功(Aaron Li) 是Hone Maxwell律师事务所(Hone Maxwell LLP)的非合伙律师。他的执业侧重于国际税收及联邦、州和地方税收问题,包括税务规划,合规性和争议。李先生针对各种国际税务为客户提供建议,包括FBAR合规、离岸自愿披露计划、FATCA、条约和IRS信息报告。此外,李先生还代表客户在国税局(IRS)、特许经营税务局(FTB)、国家统计局(SBOE)和就业发展部(EDD)的审计中进行辩护。他为客户提供债务催收协助,包括留置权、征税、分期付款协议以及和解协议。

李先生在南加州长大,并获取加州大学河滨分校经济学学士学位,及荣誉学士学位。李先生还持有圣地亚哥大学法学院,法学博士和法律硕士学位。就读法学院期间,他曾参与税务合规、遗产规划和虐待老人的诉讼。他荣获了圣地亚哥老年法与宣传的杰出实习生奖。

在加入本公司之前,李先生曾担任税务律师事务所非合伙律师一职,负责个人和实体的税务审计辩护和债务催收。他也是处理公司国际税务案件的主要顾问。

在其执业之外,李先生还担任非营利组织,圣地亚哥中国律师协会总裁兼董事会成员。作为该组织成员,李先生曾以普通话举办务研讨会和协助会,为华人社区提供教育和帮助。

李先生和他的妻子安吉拉居住在圣地亚哥。

律师执业资格:

  • 加州律师协会

教育

  • 2011年,圣地亚哥大学法学院,税法法学硕士(LL.M),
  • 2011年,圣地亚哥大学法学院,法学博士,
  • 2007年,加州大学河滨分校,艺术学士,经济/法律与社会学士,

专业协会:

  • 加州律师协会
  • 加州律师协会税务科
  • 圣地亚哥中国律师协会会长

出版物:

  • “胜利是胜利:为什么争议DS362是提高中国知识产权保护和执法的必要第一步”。2012 – 13年版,国际商务交易执业者论文,
Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Start typing and press Enter to search

Aaron Li is an associate attorney with Hone Maxwell LLP. His practice focuses on international tax and federal, state and local tax issues, including tax planning, compliance, and controversy. Mr. Li advises clients on various international tax issues including the FBAR compliance, Offshore Voluntary Disclosure Program, FATCA, treaties, and IRS informational reporting. In addition, Mr. Li defends clients in audits with the Internal Revenue Service (IRS), Franchise Tax Board (FTB), State Board of Equalization (SBOE), and Employment Development Department (EDD). He assists client in collection issues including liens, levies, installment agreements, and offers in compromise.

Mr. Li grew up in Southern California, and he obtained his Bachelor’s degree in Economics from University of California, Riverside where he graduated with Honors. Mr. Li also earned his Juris Doctor and Masters of Laws in Taxation from the University of San Diego, School of Law. While in law school he worked in tax compliance, estate planning, and elder abuse litigation. He received the Outstanding Intern Award by the San Diego Elder Law and Advocacy.

Prior to joining this firm, Mr. Li worked as an associate attorney with a tax law firm where he defended individuals and entities in tax audits and collection. He was also the primary counsel who handled the firm’s international tax cases.

Outside of his practice, Mr. Li serves as the President and board member for the San Diego Chinese Attorneys Association, an non-profit organization. As the member of the organization, Mr. Li would hold tax seminars and clinics in Mandarin Chinese to educate and help the Chinese speaking community.

Mr. Li lives in San Diego with his wife, Angela.

Admitted to Practice:

  • State of California

Education:

  • University of San Diego School of Law, Masters of Laws in Taxation (LL.M.), 2011
  • University of San Diego School of Law, Juris Doctorate, 2011
  • University of California, Riverside, Bachelor of Art, Economics/Law and Society, 2007

Professional Associations:

  • State Bar of California
  • State Bar of California, Taxation Section
  • President, San Diego Chinese Attorneys Association

Publications:

  • “A Victory is A Victory: Why Dispute DS362 was A Necessary First Step in Improving IP Protection and Enforcement in China.” Practitioner Treatise on International Business Transactions, 2012-13 Ed..
Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Start typing and press Enter to search